SEARCH
MORE
Upland/Small Game

Dove Hunting

8/18/14 @ 12:38 PM
INITIAL POST
aschenck
User since 8/18/14
Hey Everyone, I was just wondering if any of you have any information on the activity of the dove fields/public hunting land within an hour and a half of Madison. I am a UW Madison student and absolutely love dove hunting, but due to being a student I don't have much time for scouting. Thought I could help save some time by only checking out the fields that have been reported to have doves. Any info on fields you've had success at would be very much appreciated. Thanks!
Displaying 46 to 60 of 61 posts
9/10/14 @ 11:24 AM
DuckSlayin88
User since 9/13/11
I agree with Rempump as well. I hunt doves mainly in the Washington & Dodge County areas and I am truly struggling. I hunt mainly private, but have scouted public and havent seen anything there either. Most of the birds I am seeing are singles. Where are the bigger flocks? I am hoping with some of the fields being cut this week that they will be more active.
9/10/14 @ 9:47 AM
Rempump
User since 5/8/03
This has been the slowest start to any dove season I have had. We hit 12 different DNR fields starting on monday. Saw a total of about 30 birds in 3 days of hunting. We found many of hte fields were full of weeds, didn't have mature sun flowers and a couple that were not cut. Hoping to get a couple before the other seasons start. Dove are great eating!
9/8/14 @ 8:49 AM
DuckSlayin88
User since 9/13/11
Shot 10 over the weekend. The numbers are just not there this year for us.
9/6/14 @ 2:59 PM
dcsnick1
User since 4/8/08
While I was out running my dogs over in Footville I came upon a sunflower field that wasn't on the public land last year. It is off Orfordville/Hanover Rd if anyone is looking for a spot to hunt. Its a nice size too. Dnr put in some time on this 1.
9/5/14 @ 3:00 PM
DuckSlayin88
User since 9/13/11