SEARCH
MORE
Upland/Small Game

Dove Hunting

8/18/14 @ 12:38 PM
INITIAL POST
aschenck
User since 8/18/14
Hey Everyone, I was just wondering if any of you have any information on the activity of the dove fields/public hunting land within an hour and a half of Madison. I am a UW Madison student and absolutely love dove hunting, but due to being a student I don't have much time for scouting. Thought I could help save some time by only checking out the fields that have been reported to have doves. Any info on fields you've had success at would be very much appreciated. Thanks!
Displaying 16 to 30 of 61 posts
10/1/15 @ 11:56 AM
Rempump
User since 5/8/03
River_chaser- The DNR puts in a number of fields, they spend the money on them and they fail. They don't have rules, guidelines or any consequences to the farmer that planted them. The DNR says- Hey Mr Farmer- You can raise corn or beans on this public land for free- You just have to put in a sun flower field. The farmer plants the sunflowers and walks away. Why not manage the fields, why not have a DNR agent assigend to make sure the farmer fullfills their end of the agreement. This will then make the fields that are planted actually have a crop and attract dove. When these fields are up and running, they can then expand it to other areas. this will spread the dove out, limiting over harvest, spreading out the hunting pressure and making for a more enjoyable hunt. We spend $10.00 on a meal at MCdonalds. I am more than willing to spend $10.00 for just one nice hunt after work. Finding private land to hunt doves is not the easiest thing to do. There is a number of people out there that do not agree with hunting dove. Why not use otherwise unused DNR ground to help support a great sport? One looks to other states around us and sees a robust dove hunting program with money spent and successful hunts to be had.
9/29/15 @ 10:50 PM
river_chaser
User since 10/3/12