Fishing reports and lake information for Minnesota, Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Ohio, Indiana, North Dakota and South Dakota

Pickled Fish Recipe

Sort posts by date: Descending Ascending

Original Post:

Igor
See Profile
Level: General User
1/18/12 12:44 PM CST
I am in need of some help here. A couple years back there was a pickled pike recipe I used that was fabulous. It not only had the usual ingredients but also crushed red pepper and whole peppercorns.

I've done about a dozen different searches but can't seem to find the thread. What I DO remember is one of the posters had photos of MANY MANY jars of finished product in the posting.

Can anyone help? My search yielded 3 threads relating to pickling but none of these had what I am looking for.

Thanks a lot.

Displaying Posts 1 through 15 of 46
gassmann
gassmann
4/21/16 3:58 PM CST
I am no expert but I have kept my fish once pickled and unopened in the fridge for a up to a year and ate it....seemed to be just as good as the first week it was done.

eyesman
eyesman
3/25/16 6:38 AM CST
Once pickled I would not freeze the fish, my best guess is it would end up degrading the quality. I have pickled fish for years and almost always do them fresh caught without freezing first. Is that the best way, I don't know, just what I have done.

thefishingboy
See Profile
3/21/16 11:13 AM CST
First time here trying the pickling pike. I have my pike in the brine but I forgot to freeze it first to kill parasites. Can I still freeze it and thaw it out and continue or will it be mush? I have had it in brine for 24 hours or so.

badbad
badbad
Level: MEMBER
3/20/16 2:09 PM CST
Can these recipes work on bluegills and crappies?

utahman
utahman
2/24/16 10:15 AM CST
Just want to add a new change to my recipe. Add a cup of wine NOT boiled to the final brine mix after it is cooled, really made a difference this time.

[This post was last edited on 2/24/16 at 10:17 AM]
NRAguy
NRAguy
2/10/16 6:09 PM CST