SEARCH
MORE
General Outdoor Discussion

Pickled Fish Recipe

1/18/12 @ 12:44 PM
INITIAL POST
Igor
User since 6/20/01
I am in need of some help here. A couple years back there was a pickled pike recipe I used that was fabulous. It not only had the usual ingredients but also crushed red pepper and whole peppercorns. I've done about a dozen different searches but can't seem to find the thread. What I DO remember is one of the posters had photos of MANY MANY jars of finished product in the posting. Can anyone help? My search yielded 3 threads relating to pickling but none of these had what I am looking for. Thanks a lot.
Displaying 1 to 15 of 44 posts
4/4/17 @ 9:10 AM
cabinbum
User since 4/1/10

that time of year for pickled sucker. so to the top,

4/21/16 @ 3:58 PM
gassmann
User since 4/19/07
I am no expert but I have kept my fish once pickled and unopened in the fridge for a up to a year and ate it....seemed to be just as good as the first week it was done.
3/25/16 @ 6:38 AM
eyesman
eyesman
User since 1/7/02
Once pickled I would not freeze the fish, my best guess is it would end up degrading the quality. I have pickled fish for years and almost always do them fresh caught without freezing first. Is that the best way, I don't know, just what I have done.
3/21/16 @ 11:14 AM
thefishingboy
User since 9/11/04
First time here trying the pickling pike. I have my pike in the brine but I forgot to freeze it first to kill parasites. Can I still freeze it and thaw it out and continue or will it be mush? I have had it in brine for 24 hours or so.
3/20/16 @ 2:09 PM
badbad
User since 3/9/09
Can these recipes work on bluegills and crappies?
2/24/16 @ 11:15 AM
utahman
User since 3/9/03
Just want to add a new change to my recipe. Add a cup of wine NOT boiled to the final brine mix after it is cooled, really made a difference this time.
2/10/16 @ 7:09 PM
NRAguy
NRAguy
User since 6/17/01