MORE
Fly Fishing

Trout streams in Northern Illinois

3/2/11 @ 1:06 AM
INITIAL POST
jbird68
jbird68
User since 1/24/05
Anyone know some good Trout streams to fish in Northern Illinois? Ended up fishing an Iowa steam last year because I din't know of any in IL.

Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
6/8/19 @ 9:12 PM
Creekwhisperer
User since 6/8/19

They do exist.  If I could get the dnr to actually help protect them I would walk them thru a wonderful place in northern Illinois in a location they do not stock even if where they stock they wouldn’t overflow to here.  Also no fin clippings.  I’ve been catching them in this location for two decades.  This is a breeding steam and I wish I could get biologists to help save it I know it’s not natural them being there but they are breeding numbers over the years have dwindled who knows maybe some of you are in my same water. But for those who say no. Keep believing that and hopefully before too many people discover this anomaly it will become protected as browns are native to the location but I have not seen any of them in years just rainbows 4”- well it was 19 and I could barely get two hands around it    

June 2019.    Keep kids hooked on fish

3/2/11 @ 10:37 PM
l88m22vette
User since 2/22/10
Time to grab a beer and search some Google maps... Cool

3/2/11 @ 10:00 PM
undiscoveredsportsman
undiscoveredsportsman
User since 1/9/09
Closer pic

3/2/11 @ 9:54 PM
undiscoveredsportsman
undiscoveredsportsman
User since 1/9/09
Ummmm......No....no there aren't........ Big Smile

3/2/11 @ 9:31 PM
slydog1
slydog1
User since 2/16/09
Although i have been told there are a couple native streams 10-15 min. north west of rockford, but i haven't found them yet. I think the guy was tellin me fishy stories! Tounge Out

3/2/11 @ 9:27 PM
slydog1
slydog1
User since 2/16/09