SEARCH
MORE
Fly Fishing

1st Fly Rod, where to start

2/15/16 @ 10:18 PM
INITIAL POST
GoldenRules
User since 10/29/13
I am interested in fly fishing and don't know where to start. I am a complete beginner and need some direction. Primarily I think I would start using the rod for panfish and smallmouth but I wouldn't be against trying to use it to target small northern and possible throw in a weekend of steelhead fishing once a year. Can anyone recommend a good starting point. Am I completely clueless to think that the same rod can accomplish all of these goals So far I have considered the Redington Crosswater and Redington Topo in 5wt from Gander Mountain. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Displaying 1 to 13 of 13 posts
8/27/16 @ 7:20 AM
Marc Morrone
Marc Morrone
User since 9/3/08

Agreed on the 8'6" foot 5 wt. - excellent all-arounder!  I even go 8'0" as it does most of what I want and is very easy to transport in 2 pc..

7/21/16 @ 10:28 AM
Flyrod Man
User since 8/13/09

8.5 ft, 5 wgt rod, 2 pc. spend at least 150.  Look at ebay for flyrods, new or used, some good deals.  Brand names.

3/4/16 @ 9:50 PM
John.Rennpferd
User since 6/3/10
You could go two ways to get started. Buy a quality 8wt fly rod, with a good reel, and horse the smaller fish a little. The other option is a good 5-6wt, and once you get really good at playing fish with the fly rod you could even fish for larger fish, even steelhead. If you think you're only ever going to buy 1 rod, and reel get a 8wt; if you tie into something big, and fast accidentally you'll be less likely to loose tippets, and leaders.
3/3/16 @ 2:04 PM
Bozo
User since 7/29/02
Before buying a rod I would try to get some instruction from TU or some other group. Orvis does an excellent class. The federation used to do that as well. If you take the time to go to a TU meeting I bet someone will help you. You don't have to pay alot,some exspensive rods are very hard to cast. If you live in the Milwaukee area PM me.