MORE
Fishing Equipment

Braided Line (Superline)

3/13/17 @ 3:40 PM
INITIAL POST
Mad Mike
User since 5/8/03

Hello,

I have never used braided line (superline) before and was thinking about giving it a try this year. I was going to use braid with a fluorocarbon leader. When I was looking at different superlines at the store I noticed that most were sold in 125yd packages. Since most medium to heavy action spinning reels hold much more than that, how are you supposed to line your spools with braid if they don’t give you enough? Do you have to back all of your spools with mono? So your reels would all be mono, then braid, then fluorocarbon? Seems kind of ridiculous?

Any suggestions? How do you guys do it?  Any recommendations on brands for braid or fluorocarbon leaders?  

Thanks,

Mike

Displaying 16 to 21 of 21 posts
3/14/17 @ 8:49 AM
mvanhank222
User since 12/16/13

I would try to find either a 150 yard spool (also common) or a 300 yard spool. Either way back with mono tie an Albright knot to joint the two and just put the last 75 to 100 yards of line in braid you could try that with the last 62 yards so you get 2 spools out of a 125 yard spool also but that may be a bit short, its still almost 190'.

3/13/17 @ 10:38 PM
cnrwi
User since 4/1/12

I will back with tape or mono. Some reels have braid ready spools, if you want to use just braid. I don't buy spools that are less than 500 yards which cuts down on waste.  If you have two of the same reels, or a spare spool, and you have a 125 yard spool you want to use,  tie it on to one reel or the spare spool.  Put the whole spool of braid on, then tie your mono backer on and fill the spool.  Now take the mono and tie it onto the other reel with a arbor knot, reel the line in and that reel will be perfectly filled.  I almost never fish clear water so I don't use a fluorocarbon leader.  I like fireline, power pro a little better and 832 the best, but any of them will work.  

3/13/17 @ 4:41 PM
muskie nut
muskie nut