SEARCH
MORE
Wisconsin Hunting Reports/Discussion

Open carry while fishing

6/26/14 @ 4:30 AM
INITIAL POST
Flatheadcathunter
User since 3/19/14
Hey there everyone, I'm a newbie when it comes to firearm's. Just turned 21 and bought my first pistol. Don't have my ccw yet, and was just wondering about some open carry laws. Me and my girlfriend mostly do night fishing for Catfish and I was wondering would it be a problem to have my pistol in a holster/open carry. And from what I understand, the gun must be unloaded and somewhere out of reach in my car while I am driving? Any help will be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you for your time. Josh
Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
8/25/14 @ 3:25 PM
fishfillet
User since 1/8/13
leave it in the trunk until you reach your fishing spot.
7/24/14 @ 7:48 PM
ere
User since 2/22/07
Down2erth: You are misinformed regarding weapons and vehicles. Go to the DNR website and look under the concealed carry info. It spells it out that as of 2011 long guns may be transported uncased as long as they are unloaded.
7/24/14 @ 1:14 PM
MMC
User since 7/22/02
Flatheadcat hunter, Please go to the below DOJ site for your info. http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/conceal-carry/faq-concealed-carry Specifically, go to page 44 and 45. You do not have to case either a handgun or long gun in your vehicle or boat, without a CCW permit. They both cannot be concealed in anyway however without a CCW permit. Your handgun can be loaded, your long gun cannot be loaded in a vehicle,boat, atv, etc. It is better to go to the source for this info so you do not get a ticket or worse.
7/24/14 @ 12:05 PM
Down2erth
Down2erth
PRO MEMBER User since 6/21/01
You cannot carry any uncased weapon in your vehicle unless you have a conceal carry permit and that only is allowed w/ handguns.. The law at one time allowed uncased, unloaded "firearms" but Wi. laws have changed and no uncased long guns are allowed in a vehicle. Open carry does not work in a vehicle...
7/24/14 @ 2:09 AM