Great Lakes Fishing

Lake Michigan Trolling Tips and Tactics

6/23/02 @ 11:18 AM
INITIAL POST
Darin - Lake-Link
Darin - Lake-Link
PRO MEMBER User since 5/17/01
OK,

I am very new to the whole Lake Michigan trolling scene, did it a few times last year with little success. This year we are a little better equipped, but I still need to know some of the basics. Like typically how far behind the downrigger ball do you run the lure? How far behind a dipsy? A slide diver? What are the best trolling speeds? Still trying to figure out the whole dodger fly thing?!

I know these are pretty general questions, but I am just looking for some general guidlines. Also any "secret" tips or tactics would be greatly appreciated!

Displaying 46 to 60 of 974 posts
7/21/15 @ 8:47 AM
lvtofish
User since 2/2/05
LTHF Watch your riggers. if there is a lot of current from one side, you will see the lines being pushed one way or the other.
7/20/15 @ 4:12 PM
LTH&F
User since 1/3/15
How do I figure out which way the current is running and which way should I troll once I know which way the current is?
7/12/15 @ 8:01 PM
Shockers1
User since 4/27/15
JamesD there was a guy on two rivers fishing report that said he had a big fish snap his lead core. Don't know if fish could travel that far but mite want to check out.
7/12/15 @ 5:15 PM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04
I fished Algoma Thursday for a couple hours before sunset. Didn't see much on the finder but my disc on power pro started to go back...fish on! Took a while to get it to the back of the boat... my dypsey, that is. No fish! ..... but there was a section of lead core wrapped around the swivel of my spoon so I started to hand line in what ended up being a 18# king! I guess the "tip" I would give is "Once in a while even a blind squirrel finds a nut". I have no idea how long this fish was dragging a flasher fly, a bunch of mono leader and, two colors of lead core around behind it. Pure luck my rig twisted up in the core section.