Great Lakes Fishing

Lake Michigan Trolling Tips and Tactics

6/23/02 @ 11:18 AM
INITIAL POST
Darin - Lake-Link
Darin - Lake-Link
PRO MEMBER User since 5/17/01
OK,

I am very new to the whole Lake Michigan trolling scene, did it a few times last year with little success. This year we are a little better equipped, but I still need to know some of the basics. Like typically how far behind the downrigger ball do you run the lure? How far behind a dipsy? A slide diver? What are the best trolling speeds? Still trying to figure out the whole dodger fly thing?!

I know these are pretty general questions, but I am just looking for some general guidlines. Also any "secret" tips or tactics would be greatly appreciated!

Displaying 1 to 15 of 974 posts
6/2/18 @ 5:46 PM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04

Edit: posted pic is back......This is a quick way to get two hooks down on one rod. Saw it used on a charter, and I usually deploy it with a dodger on the bottom leg and a spoon on the upper. The top leg is 7 foot and the bottom twice as long rigged on this 8'6" rod. It takes a little practice to hook up to the rigger ball with two baits swinging around. The pic shows a rubber band cinched on for the rigger clip but just looping the line works too.The palomar knot tied to a small swivel slips thru the guides to store the rig as shown. I have yet to catch two fish at once with it. Can't wait....

8/26/17 @ 5:24 PM
JamesD
JamesD

Here's 30# copper tied with an Albright  with 30# mono wrapping copper on the top, and 15# flouro in the bottom knot.

8/12/17 @ 5:45 PM
JamesD
JamesD